Hindi Language History

Hindi Language History

Hindi language, the primary official language of India which belonged to Indo-European language. Mainly the people in Northern and Central India communicate in the Hindi language. The language also bounded with many other Indian languages such are Punjabi, Urdu, Gujarati, and Sindi. North West Bengali on the East and Nepal on the North.
45% of the Indian Population speaking in Hindi, so it is widely spoken the language in the world. According to 1991, 337 million Indians mother tongue is the Hindi which is 40% population of Indians.

Speaking Population:

hindi language
According to International’s ethnology, 300 million people use the language as their second language and 180 million people’s mother tongue Hindi. In Nepal, 8 million people speak Hindi, 390,000 in South Africa, 685,000 in Mauritius, 317,000 in the U.S. 233,000 in Yemen and 30,000 in Germany and some other countries also contain in recordable people speaking in Hindi.

Hindi language Origin

Hindi, a descendant of Sanskrit and belonged to Indo-Aryan language family. The earliest Aryan settlers in North India followed this and evaluated from classical Sanskrit to Pali-Prakrit and Apabhransha period. The Earliest Hindi language presence of evidence can be traced back to the 10th century A.D. and as same as Devanagari script. The National Language of India ranked third in the world and widely spoken in the world. Approximately six hundred million people across the world speak the Hindi language as their first or Second language.
This is not only National language to India but also a regional language of six states. They are Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Himachal Pradesh. Nearly 437 million people from all over the world speaking.

Hindi language authentic poetry took its form in the 10th century and later years, it has been constantly modified. The literature divided into four stages according to its History. They are Adikal (the early period), Bhakti Kal (The Devotional Period), Ritikal (The scholastic period) and Adhunikkal (the Modern Period).


The first one Adikal starts from the 10th century and indeed to early 14th century. The second one Bhakti Kal thrived during 14th to the 17th century. During this period many Muslim rulers invaded on India and occupied the territories of India and stress the people to convert to Islam. They also instruct the Hindus to follow the Islamic customs and rituals. Then the Hindus quite dejected at the effect on their culture. The third one Riti Kal, during this period the poets of Ritikal classified into two groups, they are Ritibaddha who wedded to rhetorics and Ritimukta who were free from rhetorical conventions. Final and fourth one Modern Hindi Literature; the modern Hindi literature divided into four phases. The first phase is Bharatendu or the Renaissance (1899-1893 ), Dwivedi yug ( 1893-1918 ), Chhayavade Yug ( 1918-37) and the contemporary period (1937 onwards).


The famous Hindi language Poet Bharatender Harishchandra transformed old Hindi language literature into Modern outlook. So he was called as ‘Father of Modern Hindi Literature’. Later Prasad Dwivedi brought a refined style of Hindi poetry. Hindi the dominated language in Northern states and Union territories of India. So the Linguistic scholars called these areas as Hindi Belt. Remaining other states also influenced by the Hindi language. They are like Mumbai, Chandigarh, Ahmadabad, Kolkata and Hyderabad.