Prime Ministers Of India

Indian Primer Ministers After India Got Independence: 

india prime ministers

India shows unity in diversity. There are 14 full time Prime Ministers served to India. Totally 15 Prime Ministers served to India after Independence. Pundit Nehru was the first Prime Minister who represented to National Congress. At present Narendra Modi is in the office and representing BJP.

Congress Party Prime Ministers:

Jawaharlal Nehru:

india prime ministers

Tenure is 15th Aug 1947 – 27th May 1964 for 16 years, 286 days
Jawaharlal Nehru played main role in India getting Independence. He was the first Prime Minister of independent India. He played a crucial role in bringing many reforms in the society to shape modern India. He brought the Hindu civil code which was caused to ruin the blind beliefs and women position in Hindu religion. This civil code permits to the Hindu widows to share the equal rights with men in sharing property and inheritance.

india prime ministers

Gulzarilal Nanda:


Tenure – 27 May 1964 – 9th June 1964 for 13 days
Tenure – 11th January 1966 – 24th January 1966 for 13 days
He was the first ‘Interim Prime Minister’ of India.

india prime ministers

Lal Bahadur Shastri:

Tenure – 9th June 1964 – 11 January 1966 for 1 year, 216 days
He was also a freedom fighter and the loyal follower of Mahatma Gandhi. He was only the PM minister who gave the popular slogan ‘Jai Jawan Jai Kisan. He was the soft spoken person and brought ‘White Revolution’. Due to his activities production of milk increased and India became one of the richest milk production country in the world.

india prime ministers

Indira Gandhi:

Tenure – 24th January 1966 – 24th March 1977 for 11 years, 59 days
Tenure – 14th January 1980 – 31st October 1984 for 4 years, 291 days
Indira Gandhi was the daughter of Jawaharlal Nehru and the first woman Prime Minister of India. She served longest serving woman Prime Minister in India. She was the Iron Lady and very courageous in taking decisions. During her Tenure as Prime Minister, India wins over Pakistan in the war in 1971.

india prime ministers

Janata Party: Morarji Desai:

Tenure – 24th March 1977 – 28th July 1979 for 2 years, 126 days
Morarji Desai fights against Indira government and led movements against the emergency. He was the first person who formed the first non congress party government in India. But he was failed to led his government the full term of five years.

india prime ministersJanata Party (Secular):

Charan Singh:

Tenure – 28th July 1979 – 14th January 1980 for 170 days
He was only ruled his government for 170 days. During his tenure as a revenue minister of Uttar Pradesh he worked to remove the Zamindari system and brought Land Reform acts.

Inadian National Congress:


Rajiv Gandhi:

Tenure – 31st October 1984 – 2nd December 1989 for 5 years, 32 days
Rajiv Gandhi was the first youngest Prime Minister of India. He became to the post at the age of 40. He also brings many reformations in technology sector. He was also very famous as the modernized administration in Indian administration. His activities improved the bilateral relationships with neighbouring and developed countries in expanding economic cooperation.

india prime ministersJanata Dal:

V.P. Singh:

Tenure – 2nd December 1989 – 10th November 1990 for 343 days
V.P. Singh first worked as the finance minister and later turned as the Prime Minister of India. His activities caused to improve the poor conditions in the country.

Samajwadi Janata Party:

Chandra Shekhar:

Tenure – 10th November 1990 to 21st June 1991 for 223 days

Indian National Congress:

india prime ministersP.V. Narasimha Rao:

Tenure – 21st June 1991 – 16th May 1996 for 4 years 330 days
P. V. Narasimha Rao was one of the best administrators in the world. He was the first person who brought economic reforms in the Indian society. He was also called as the father of Indian Economic reforms. He did not think of dismantled the License Raj. Because of his administration abilities India became destination to the foreign countries. Due to his genius ability he was also called him as Chanakya.

india prime ministersBharatiya Janata Party:

Atal Bihari Vajpayee:

Tenure – 16th May 1996 – 1st June 1996 for 16 days
Tenure –19th March 1998 – 22nd May 2004 for 6 years 64 days
Atal Bihari Vajpayee was really an wonderful and beloved prime minister to the Indians. During his administration the inflation was very low in India. He brought the economic reforms and policies to develop the ruler areas. During his administration period Telecom industry rising started in good progress. He was totally concentrated on infrastructure development.

india prime ministers

Janata Dal:

H. D. Deve Gowda:

Tenure – 1st June 1996 – 21st April 1997 for 324 days
He was the leader of the United Front government from various parties. He did as common administration. He didn’t take any special influential decisions.

india prime ministers

I.K. Gujral:

Tenure- 21st April 1997 – 19th March 1998 for 332 days
He only spent 332 days in the office but he did very important tasks during his term. He resistance on signing on CTBT. Which is later causes conducting the Pokran nuclear tests. He also did some improvement methods to increase the relation between Pakistan and India.

india prime ministers
Indian National Congress:

Manmohan Singh:

Tenure – 22nd May 2004 – May 2014
Manmohan Singh brought the reforms in banking sector and financial sector. His government brought VAT, which means value added tax. He was noted as weak Prime Minister in the Indian history.

Bharatiya Janata Party:

Narendra Modi:

He came to the office on May 26, 2014. He brought discipline in administration. He brought the policies of Jan Dhan Yojana, Swachh Bharat Abhiyan and some other. He has been trying to glow the prestige of India in foreign countries. There are many he need to do the 150 th Mahatma Gandhi birth anniversary and Clean Ganga project. Read more: