Indian Cricket Tournaments

Indian Cricket Tournaments:

indian cricket tournaments

Cricket games are treated as a religion in India. Even familiar People in India have a close association with this game. Every corner of the country aspires to have a budding cricket star. So the game was played in every playground and every possible corner of the country. Fans in India are very passionate about watching not only international cricket matches but also domestic cricket matches. Domestic cricket tournaments also have a lot of impact on cricket lovers. These domestic tournaments have high quality and seem to be complete amusement. Hence these domestic tournaments also grab the national cricket icons and give a splendid performance to make more cricket lovers. In India, Cricket tournaments and matches are conducted under the aegis of the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI). Here is a list of famous domestic cricket tournaments in the country.

Ranji Trophy:

The Ranji Trophy tournament has a lot of crazy in India. This Trophy was launched in July 1934 and is an ancient and influential tournament in India. The first Ranji Trophy was held in 1934-35; Bombay was the first champion.

Irani Trophy:

On the eve of the 25th year of the Ranji Trophy Championship, The Irany Trophy was conceived during the 1959-60 season. The tournament was named after the late Z. R. Irani. Z.R. Irani serviced Indian Cricket and has been associated with the Board of Control for Cricket in India since 1928.

Duleep Trophy:

BCCI launched this Trophy to honour Kumar Shri Duleepsinghji. This Trophy was brought to bring more competition in the Indian cricket arena. The National selectors choose the players to select for National Team.

Deodhar Trophy:

The Deodhar Trophy is one of the leading trophy tournaments in India to honour the grand older man of Indian Cricket, Prof D.B.Deodhar. This tournament started in 1973-74 as a one-day equivalent of the Ranji Tournament. The game was held between the five Indian cricket zones- the North, South, East, West and Central Zone.

Challenger Trophy:

This Challenger trophy started to honour N.M.P.Salve, who profoundly worked to bring the 1987 World Cup to the country. This tournament started 1994-95. In 1998 the name of the game was renamed as N.K.P.Salve Challenger Trophy in honour of N.K.P.Salve. In this tournament, some players were divided into two parts In, India A and India B and played with the Indian national team. Most of the prominent players and berth aspirants participated in this tournament.