Pranayam Yoga The fourth Limb Of Ashtanga Yoga

Pranayama is the fourth limb of Ashtanga Yoga:

Pranayama is derived from Prana, which means life force. Ayama means control. Combining the two words, Pranayama means controlling the breath. Patanjali in his text of Yoga Sutras mentioned Pranayama. In his literature, he said that practising these asanas causes the practice to attain higher awareness. He also mentioned if he was holding his breath about reaching Samadhi. The method of Pranayama helps to make the body and mind healthy.

Usually, people attract towards Yogasanas. Similarly, they have attracted to Pranayama. These yoga asanas depended on controlling the breath, which is the indicator of life. If it is done wrongly, it may harm the person. During practice, one should follow the guidance of the teacher. The training under experts’ direction can help learn soon and could get benefits from Practising Yoga.

Practice Yoga:

By Practising Pranayama, one can control the energy within and learn how to breathe correctly. With the technic of breathing, we can increase the Lungs’ capacity and adequately supply oxygen to every organ of the body. Scientists have proved the benefits of the Pranayama.

According to the speed of breathing, it is divided into three parts. They are

  1. Quiet Breathing – It is smooth breathing that is continuous without any effort.

2. Deep Breathing – Protracted breathing means deliberate storing down of the breathing.

3. Fast Breathing – Caused by the deliberate increase in breathing speed.

The four stages of Pranayama:

1. Aramba – This is the first stage. When a person is interested, he awakened to start the


2. Ghata – Second stage, where three carries gross and subtle merges to cover the soul.

3. Parichay – This is the third stage where the practice gets familiar with the knowledge of Pranayam.

4. Nispati – This is the final stage where the practice goes beyond his physical body and unites with the supreme.

Practice Styles:

Type -1: Keep both nostrils open and then inhale and exhale with as much speed and time as feasible.

Type -2: Take up Pranava Mudra and close the right nostril with the help of the thumb of the right hand, and inhale and exhale through the left nostril.

Type -3: Same here, left nostril closed, inhale, and exhale quickly with the right nostril.

Type -4: In this, close the right nostril and inhale through the left nostril, and immediately close the left nostril and exhale with the right.

Type -5: Doing the opposite of the previous one.

Type -6: This is practised quickly by following type-4 and type-5.